The 24-book arrangement of the Hebrew Bible

Note how the 39 books of our English OT match exactly with the 24 (or sometimes 22) books of the Hebrew Bible. The three divisions of Law, Prophets, and Writings correspond with the reference by Jesus (Lk. 24.44) to the Law, Prophets, and the Psalms (the Psalms represent part for the whole of the Writings probably because they made up the largest section of the Writings). A Christian is bound to exactly the 39 books of the OT because of his submission to the authority of Christ. We know that the Lord's reference to the 3 divisions of the OT speaks specifically of the 24 (or 22) books that unpack from various compound units to the 39 of our English Bibles (i.e. the single book of the minor prophets unpacks to 12 books, the single Ezra-Nehemiah becomes two books, and so forth).

LAW: ¹Genesis ²Exodus ³Leviticus ⁴Numbers ⁵Deuteronomy

PROPHETS

Former: ⁶Joshua ⁷(Judges) ⁸Samuel ⁹Kings

Latter: ¹⁰Isaiah ¹¹[Jeremiah] ¹²Ezekiel ¹³12 Minor

WRITINGS

Poetry/Wisdom: ¹⁴Psalms ¹⁵Job ¹⁶Proverbs

Rolls:

17(Ruth)
18 Song of Songs
19 Ecclesiastes

²⁰[Lamentations]
²¹Esther

History: ²²Daniel ²³Ezra-Nehemiah ²⁴Chronicles

For 22 books, combine (Judges-Ruth) & [Jeremiah-Lamentations]